(320) – To Kill A Mockingbird


IMG_20150113_231605

 

It’s one of the highest recommended books in the history of reading and I am finally getting a chance to read it. However, I’m trying something new this time; I’ve downloaded the audiobook and am playing it while reading the real book. Well, the purpose is to help my spoken English because I couldn’t and still can’t afford a tutor to help my pronunciation, not that it’s bad but I want to be better.

I’ve tried to do that today, I couldn’t read loudly with the audiobook, had a few problems with concentrating and understanding the story because when you’re a bilingual, it takes a bit longer to think of what you’re reading unless you’ve got a proper help but I’m still determined on trying something new. I highlight the words I can’t pronounce well then go back to read it again on my own. Sometimes I read the same paragraph two or three times especially when there’s a new word to me, it’s actually interesting.

So what do you think of that? is it a good way to learn from the audiobook? do you recommend another policy that shall assist my reading as well as speaking skills? most importantly, have you read the book? what do you think of it? I’d like a second opinion. 🙂

6 thoughts on “(320) – To Kill A Mockingbird

  1. Hi! I didn’t read the book. Yet. I’m not very fond of audio books as a concept, but a friend of mine likes to listen to the audio book while she reads, like you. But she does it for her own enjoyment. I can’t tell you if your method is the most appropriate to learn pronounciation, but since I took a different approach, I tend to say no. What helped me learn german was to sing along. A lot! We also somtimes hang onto the way a word is written and end up saying letters that are there but that no native speaker says out loud. It helps to try to mimic a few words out loud and forget how they’re written – this will usually sound strange to our own ears, but we soon realize that the native speakers don’t think it’s strange. And, if one has the chance, lots and lots of speaking. I wish you all the best! 🙂

    • I know what you mean. I imitate other native speakers from movies and tv and it works pretty good but I still want to be better. That may not be possible except with regular speaking practice with some native speakers, it’s the only thing I can’t find a way to do. Generally, your method is effective, I think, based on my little experience, just more practice. I hope you’re speaking German fluently now, I’d like to learn more languages in the near future. Best of luck, have a nice weekend. 🙂

  2. I wouldn’t even try to estimate how many times I’ve read To Kill a Mockingbird! It is one of my favorite books, and has been for nearly half a century. Depending on who is reading the audiobook, it could be instrumental in learning the local dialect. Even if it doesn’t help you in the long run, it must be fun to do anyway! I am so very glad you are enjoying the book written by a fellow Alabamian. I hope that one day you’ll read mine and enjoy it just as much!

Leave a Reply

