(172) – HOPE & FAITH


“Doubt is a pain too lonely to know that faith is his twin brother.”

–Khalil Gibran–

“Faith is taking the first step even when you don’t see the whole staircase.”

–Martin Luther King, Jr.–

“Hope is the thing with feathers that perches in the soul – and sings the tunes without the words – and never stops at all.”

–Emily Dickinson–

“A little more persistence, a little more effort, and what seemed hopeless failure may turn to glorious success.”

–Elbert Hubbard–

“We must free ourselves of the hope that the sea will ever rest. We must learn to sail in high winds.”

–Aristotle Onassis–

Some define hope as the feeling of expectation and desire for a certain thing to happen. While faith is defined according to Google as the complete trust and confidence is someone or something, also, a strong belief.

We need hope in our lives, we also need faith. We long for hope when we are in despair, yet faith follows when life is tougher and nights are darker. For the past three weeks, I was sick, sometimes I felt better, sometimes worse but there was only one thing in common, I didn’t feel well all the time. I’ve seen many doctors and was diagnosed several times with almost the same thing but still I couldn’t rest and sleep tight. There was something painful, stressful and annoying in the back of my head. I was struggling with my feelings, my family thought I was giving up hope and weak but in fact, I was truly hurt and trying to be hopeful.

Well, hope helped my stubbornness to get better but only faith made me feel better. I was hopeful which means I wanted to be better and feel better but that “Want” needed something true and strong to be a reality. My “want” was very desperate to be encouraged and guided by a strong desire that knows no limits.

after every visit to the doctor, I felt hopeful; taking my meds somehow was giving me hope but it’s all useless compared to faith and the blossoms of faith. At some point, I decided I didn’t want to take anything else or visit any doctors. Nothing at all was helping me, nothing could calm down this weird curiosity in my heart or even control this fire of doubt that I might have had cancer or something terrible but faith. I stood before Allah silently for seconds, minutes and hours, then read in his book, tried to feel the words flowing in my blood; from the heart to the mind and to every single cell in my blood.

The answer didn’t come verbally but it was felt in the heart. The comfort, beauty and rest were noticeable on my face but nobody knew why. My mom thought it was the medications but it was not. My dad was so proud of the doctor who diagnosed me and gave me the medications but it was not the doctor’s virtue. It was Allah, it was faith in Allah!

I don’t mean to underestimate the power of hope but hope is worldly while faith is divine. We want hope in our life but need faith to follow the Straight Path.

2 thoughts on “(172) – HOPE & FAITH

Leave a Reply

