(122) – “Knowledge Is Only Potential Power”


“Knowledge is potential power. For the power to be manifested, it must be applied. Most people know what they should do in any given situation, or in their lives for the matter. The problem is that they don’t take daily, consistent action to apply the knowledge and don’t realize their dreams.” Robin Sharma – The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari 

I’ve always wondered whether we have to socialize with only the people who we think are better and more educated than ourselves so we can learn more from them or we have to talk to all kinds of people even if we know they wouldn’t add any small value to our knowledge. I don’t have too many friends; I’m not the kind of guy who knows groups of people and get along quickly with others but I have close friends and true ones. Most of my friends are well-educated, talented and serious up to some extent. Sometimes, I feel like I should add silly friends to my list and get to know other funny guys but that’s not my type, you know what I mean?

Knowledge is power, apparently, potential power. Today, I realize I have to be less serious and enjoy more time with new friends. That’d be easier said than done, but in the worst-case scenario, I’ll try to be “just” nice to everybody.

5 thoughts on “(122) – “Knowledge Is Only Potential Power”

  1. Thank you for sharing this lovely post with us. It’s definitely worth it to get to know more people and to enjoy the diversity that life has to offer. However, I do understand that it’s difficult to connect to everyone on a deeper level. I guess one should meet all of Humanity with compassion and an open heart, ready to embrace their uniqueness. Yet the companions which may enlighten your being at a deeper level will have a different place in your heart. Rumi always notes that you must choose your friends carefully as you environment is your garden. So fill it with flowers, for it becomes your world.

    “Didn’t I say, Do not sit with sad companions? Don’t sit with anyone but those whose hearts are glad. Since you are in the garden, don’t go to the thorns. Sit amidst the roses, jonguils and Jasmin”.
    ~ Hazrat Jalaluddin Rumi

    Best wishes,
    Shaidi

    • thank YOU for sharing this wonderful quote, always glad to see you enjoying my writings despite how simple they are. 🙂 I hope you have a good day. 🙂

      • Human stories are from the heart, which makes them ‘simply’ amazing. And despite their simplicity they have the ability to touch us deeply as we can all resonate with it in some way or the other. I hope you have a lovely day as well.

        Best wishes,
        Shaidi

Leave a Reply

