(071) – Khalil Gibran on Friendship


1150240_463147197117204_1550756432_n

I’ve been debating with another friend of mine about my best friend; in whom i’m in love not just a friendship. He says i’m building up a fantasy and this friendship will never be anything bigger than just brotherhood.

Personally, I doubt that; I don’t think we’re normal friends and to say that we’re “close friends” is an understatement. We’ve met unexpectedly and aimlessly, just like any two other persons. Yet, we’ve revealed each other’s vagueness and mysteries.

I have no idea why or how but there must be a purpose of all this love. We have plans for the future; to grow up and succeed together is one of them.

The turmoil of life has been trying to separate us but we struggled many times to let this friendship survive and last till death do us apart. My friend might not know this amount of love I hold for him but I’m pretty sure he has some kind of love for me. Sometimes, I think I’m more attached to my friend than he is to me; the reason is still blurry but I cannot let this affect y feelings toward him because if I do, I’d be a traitor and will never ever forgive myself about the one who trusts me and considers me a brother from another mother.

To be honest, this issue is worrying me and frets me often because I feel him more than he thinks. I mean whenever he has a problem, I think it’s ours not only him which in turn keeps me a little bit distracted from my life and family. On that score, it was called a fantasy.

Is it really a fantasy? or pure love for a friend? Is it wrong or is it right? That’s what I’d like to hear from you dear readers. Please, gimme an answer!

The poem

And a youth said,
– Speak to us of Friendship!
And he answered, saying:
Your friend is your needs answered.
He is your field which you sow with love
and reap with thanksgiving.

And he is your board and your fireside.
For you come to him with your hunger,
and you seek him for peace.

When your friend speaks his mind you fear
not the “nay” in your own mind,
nor do you withhold the “ay”.
And when he is silent your heart ceases
not to listen to his heart;
For without words, in friendship, all thoughts,
all desires, all expectations are born and shared,
with joy that is unacclaimed.

When you part from your friend, you grieve not;
  For that which you love most
in him may be clearer in his absence,
as the mountain to the climber
is clearer from the plain.

And let there be no purpose in friendship
save the deepening of the spirit.
For love that seeks aught but the disclosure
of its own mystery is not love but a net cast forth:
and only the unprofitable is caught.

And let your best be for your friend
that you should seek him with hours to kill?
Seek him always with hours to live.
For it is his to fill your need,
but not your emptiness.

And in the sweetness of friendship
let there be laughter, and sharing of pleasures.
For in the dew of little things
the heart finds its morning and is refreshed.

4 thoughts on “(071) – Khalil Gibran on Friendship

  1. I see nothing wrong with falling in love with your best friend. Follow your heart. If it’s meant to be then it will, if it’s not meant to be then it won’t. You go for it is what Wild Thang has to say about it and good luck, at that. happy holidays to you and yours.:)

    • Either way, my friend’s got married and now all I can do is friendship, it has nothing to do with love anymore. However, another friend of mine says friendship could never be love; either you love your friend or he/she is just a friend. I tell him, my friendship is based on love, so i’m confusing the two concepts, you understand me? I hope so…

      Happy holidays to you too, I was working on a Christmas tree with a special mate today, it was very nnice. 🙂

      • Breathe, breathe, breathe. Ok, I’m just about ready to scream. I was almost done responding to you and I had a rather lengthy response and it vanished on me. I’ve been awake all night, again and it’s now 11:09 a.m. here and I better attempt to get some sleep.
        I will try this one more time. breathe, breathe, breathe. Sigh……………………Well, I’m glad that you are at least still able to be friends, that is nice and if that changes or I am misunderstanding, then all you can do is move on. It always sucks to lose a friend. That I know. Since I’ve gotten really sick and become disabled and can not do much, but go to doctors appointments and be in bed, most of my friends have forgotten I even exist. Not all, but 98%. It does get very lonely, in turn makes me sad because I have a lot of friends and I am a very social/people person. If I call them, they will come, but they don’t just call me to even say hi, how ya doin’? Nothing. Vanished.
        Now on this friendship and love thing. All I can say is that my hubby is my best friend. How can you love someone you can’t be friends with. Relationships usually, in my eyes, start out as friendships and sometimes that friendship develops into love, intimate love. I mean what I’m trying to say is that I love all my friends and family, but not in the same way I love my hubby, of course. I do understand what you are saying if I’m understanding you, I think me and you are on the same page with this matter, am I correct? I can’t imagine being in “LOVE” romantic love and not being friends. Everyone is entitled to their opinion and has their own way of thinking about things. Sometimes we think the same things, but don’t say it the same way and it gets confusing, you know what I mean. So, I’m telling you that you can be in love with someone that starts out as your friend, happens all the time. Let me know if me and you are on the same page with this so I know if I’m understanding what you are saying. I believe I do, but not for sure. That’s my opinion on the matter.
        I’m sure your Christmas tree is lovely. We put ours up on my birthday, Nov. 30th. I have 4 kids, 2 girls and 2 boys. My youngest just turned 18 last Saturday. I’ve got 3 in college and one a Senior in High School. 2 are away at college and one lives here with her 15 month old son while she is going to nursing school. Then of course, my youngest is still at home. Next Fall we’ll have 4 kids in college at the same time. Real smart planning, huh? LOL But, my mom was here on my birthday and everyone helped with the tree and we had a lot of fun and it was a very enjoyable event because Grandma was here. usually, they are all excited and ready to put up the tree and decorate and all that and then about 15 minutes into it, no one wants to do it any more and everyone ends up fighting and it’s not a very pleasant time, but my kids even though they are grown up still act that way, but they weren’t about to act like that with Grandma (my mom) here. LOL so we all just had so much fun and that’s very important to me in my condition. I don’t get too many days that are really fun and enjoyable with my friends or as a family. So, I told my mom that I’m going to have to have her over when it’s time to put everything away and take down the tree and all so it won’t be a bunch of fighting and on one wanting to help. My God, with the 6 of us, 7 counting my mom, it doesn’t take that long anyway. It’s the putting the tree up that takes the most time, but when everyone helps it goes so much faster and smoother. I also told my mom, she’s going to have to come over every year when we put it up, as well. Her birthday is the day before mine, so we can just start doing it on either her birthday or mine. LOl I know I had more in my message that vanished, but can’t remember the rest. I really didn’t intend on writing a novel and I better quit while I’m ahead, before something happens and it vanishes, again. That would really drive me mad, especially since I’ve had no sleep, not only last night, but the past several nights. My hateful friend Insomnia has come back for another visit so soon. Nice talking to you. I’ll wait to see what you have to say and see if I understood what you were asking me. Take care my friend and Wild Thang is going to attempt to sleep. Not even feeling tired, but I better, at least, give it a try.:)

      • You know, it’s really fine by me to see a 1000 word comment on my blog, I know it takes time to read it and reply but it’s really enjoyable.

        Well, that’s for sure! I don’t think love is found, it’s just given and I’d rather work harder on a friendship instead of a relationship because friends as you said would be in a relationship, it’s just the bases of any successful relationship since friends, true friends have so much respect for each other and that’s the essence of any successful relationship. Yes, apparently you understand me, very well. Besides, I’m not the kinda people who have many friends but I can proudly say I have true ones and they never forgot about me, still there are exceptions. 😉
        Those who give up on you or remember you only when you call aren’t friends and you don’t want them to be around even if you need them, watch out for the quality not the quantity, it’s what matters, am I wrong? Hope not!

        Actually, I’m not Christian, it’s just my friend but I’d like to celebrate it with him and eat chocolate LOL. I am surprised that you have 4 grown up kids, God bless them all. I don’t know how smart it is to have 4 kids at university at the same time but my mom would tell you how it exactly feels, I’m sure you’d get along like house on fire especially when it comes to your kids and the upbringing. As for the fights at home, it’s very normal; me and my sis (she’s 18) always fight and scream, I can say everyone in the neighborhood hears us when the fight is on, it’s just the lifestyle!

        Anyway, it’s time for you to go to sleep and take a break, I hope you get better and sleep well. Take good care of yourself and the family, God bless you all.

Leave a Reply

