(040) – Manipulation Never Leads to Inspiration


“Manipulations are a perfectly valid strategy for driving a transaction, or for any behavior that is only required once or on rare occasions” — Simon Sinek

Two years ago, I was introduced to two new words, leadership and manipulation; they work differently. Manipulations never lead to loyalty or leadership, it only works once in a lifetime and sometimes it doesn’t. On the contrary, concepts like leadership and inspiration assure you a very good quality of the things to be done. It also creates loyalty and sense of responsibility towards your goal or your work.

When I was a child, my dad was the only one I could trust. I used to ask him everything crossed my mind. In most cases, I’ve got the right answers which have something to do with my mentality and my attitude but to be honest, sometimes I didn’t get an answer or it could be a ridiculous answer so I shut my mouth up and stop asking. I appreciate these ridiculous replies and don’t blame my dad because I didn’t know what his mood was that moment. However, I’ve grown up to find that my dad has this kind of strange policy. He likes to manipulate others thinking they’d never figure it out or they would just believe him and never question his answers.

I’ve worked with my dad long enough during holidays to realize this pathetic truth. He usually gives you the answer he wants to share but not the one you need to know or simply the right answer. If it comes to something he thinks you should know, he’d never stop nagging on your head to listen to him and accept this piece of fact. I’ve got to a point where I don’t have to ask my dad and tend to find the answer my way. I’d rather read a book to get my answer instead of asking him, I’m pretty sure I’ll end up with the answers he wants me to know.

I’ve taken my dad seriously enough but woke up later to find out that most of my information is mistaken and not true. At some point, I gave him the benefit of the doubt and had to turn over a new page because no matter what he’s still my father. I’ve tried him many times later on but it was clear evidence that he’s a good manipulator and I shouldn’t trust him anymore.

As the title goes, Manipulation never leads to Inspiration. Inspiration is the only thing that can assure you an impeccable quality of work. Moreover, it is the stepping stone of trust and “trust is a must”. My dad isn’t trust worthy any longer amongst my family; we know he’ll manipulate us to keep everything under control. It might not be deliberate but it’s such a despicable policy that we Arab excel in.

One thought on “(040) – Manipulation Never Leads to Inspiration

Leave a Reply

